View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:45 am Post subject: Kicking a disc = a practice throw |
|
|
Quote: | QA29: Legal Throwing Styles
Q: Are there any restrictions on how you throw the disc? For example, can you throw nothing but overhand shots?
A: There are no restrictions on how you throw the disc. You may throw backhand, sidearm, overhand, thumber, or any other way that occurs to you. You can throw it with your foot if that works for you. Note: That also means that kicking the disc can be penalized as a practice throw.Applicable Rules: 800 Definitions (Throw); 803.01 General |
_________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quoted from the PDGA Rules Q & A (v12_2011) _________________ Boyle says BOOM!
Last edited by Jefrey A. Brother on Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:53 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
So when someone boots their entire bag and it flies more than 2 meters then that is 1 x (discs in bag) penalty? Hilarious _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
briggs Disc Jockey

Joined: 31 Jul 2008 Posts: 593
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | So when someone boots their entire bag and it flies more than 2 meters then that is 1 x (discs in bag) penalty? Hilarious |
Paging Human? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 9:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
briggs wrote: | Thumber wrote: | So when someone boots their entire bag and it flies more than 2 meters then that is 1 x (discs in bag) penalty? Hilarious |
Paging Human? |
Read my mind _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Throw: The propulsion of a disc that causes it to change its position from the teeing area or the lie.
|
_________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Practice Throw: During a round, the projection of a disc of a distance greater than two meters, or of any distance toward a target, intentional or not, which does not change the player's lie, either because it did not occur from the teeing area or the lie, or because the player had already thrown competitively from the teeing area or the lie. Throws that are re-thrown in accordance with the rules are not practice throws. Provisional throws made pursuant to 803.01 C and 803.01 D (3) are not practice throws. A player shall receive a penalty for a practice throw in accordance with sections 803.01 B or Competition Manual 1.5 B (1).
|
_________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Quote: | Throw: The propulsion of a disc that causes it to change its position from the teeing area or the lie.
|
|
Ahhh....way to ruin what could be a hilarious warning
"Cool it dude. You kick your bag like that again and you are getting 24 penalty strokes" _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Quote: | Throw: The propulsion of a disc that causes it to change its position from the teeing area or the lie.
|
|
Ahhh....way to ruin what could be a hilarious warning
"Cool it dude. You kick your bag like that again and you are getting 24 penalty strokes" |
If you want you can ding him with a practice throw. No warning needed. _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Thumber wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Quote: | Throw: The propulsion of a disc that causes it to change its position from the teeing area or the lie.
|
|
Ahhh....way to ruin what could be a hilarious warning
"Cool it dude. You kick your bag like that again and you are getting 24 penalty strokes" |
If you want you can ding him with a practice throw. No warning needed. |
oh I see. It would be a practice throw as you don't have to be on the tee or your lie to get penalized for that.
So if you kick your entire bag, could you technically be called for multiple practice throws, assuming the entire bag of discs travels more than 2 meters? _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Holly D Overflow Overlord

Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 4304 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Thumber wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Quote: | Throw: The propulsion of a disc that causes it to change its position from the teeing area or the lie.
|
|
Ahhh....way to ruin what could be a hilarious warning
"Cool it dude. You kick your bag like that again and you are getting 24 penalty strokes" |
If you want you can ding him with a practice throw. No warning needed. |
oh I see. It would be a practice throw as you don't have to be on the tee or your lie to get penalized for that.
So if you kick your entire bag, could you technically be called for multiple practice throws, assuming the entire bag of discs travels more than 2 meters? |
I think that's a question you should send to the PDGA. _________________ 1020 rated lunch preparationist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | oh I see. It would be a practice throw as you don't have to be on the tee or your lie to get penalized for that.
So if you kick your entire bag, could you technically be called for multiple practice throws, assuming the entire bag of discs travels more than 2 meters? |
If called on this, I would argue that I didn't touch the discs, but instead the bag, therefore I didn't kick the disc.
I have kicked a disc in mock disgust before. _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Thumber wrote: | oh I see. It would be a practice throw as you don't have to be on the tee or your lie to get penalized for that.
So if you kick your entire bag, could you technically be called for multiple practice throws, assuming the entire bag of discs travels more than 2 meters? |
If called on this, I would argue that I didn't touch the discs, but instead the bag, therefore I didn't kick the disc.
I have kicked a disc in mock disgust before. |
what if discs went flying out after you kicked the bag?
just havin fun here _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Thumber wrote: | oh I see. It would be a practice throw as you don't have to be on the tee or your lie to get penalized for that.
So if you kick your entire bag, could you technically be called for multiple practice throws, assuming the entire bag of discs travels more than 2 meters? |
If called on this, I would argue that I didn't touch the discs, but instead the bag, therefore I didn't kick the disc.
I have kicked a disc in mock disgust before. |
what if discs went flying out after you kicked the bag?
just havin fun here |
But I didn't kick the disc. I kicked the bag. If I kicked the putter out of it's pocket, by kicking the disc, then I'd say Practice Throw by definition. _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
apparently Carlton Howard penalized a player at a tournament for throwing his bag. They counted each disc in the bag as a throw.....crazy....got that when I put this same thread up on dgcr _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | 801.01 Courtesy
A. Players should not throw until they are certain that the thrown disc will not distract another player or potentially injure anyone present. Players should watch the other members of their group throw in order to aid in locating errant throws and to ensure compliance with the rules.
B. Players should take care not to produce any distracting noises or any potential visual distractions for other players who are throwing. Examples of discourteous actions are: shouting, cursing, freestyling, slapping course equipment, throwing out of turn, throwing or kicking golf bags, throwing minis, and advancing on the fairway beyond the away player. Shouting at an appropriate time to warn someone in danger of being struck by a disc is not a violation of courtesy.
C. Refusal to perform an action expected by the rules, such as assisting in the search for a lost disc, moving discs or equipment, or keeping score properly, etc., is a courtesy violation.
D. Littering is a courtesy violation.
E. Courtesy dictates that players who smoke should not allow their smoke to disturb other players. Smokers should extinguish their cigarettes and carry their cigarette butts to a trash can. Disposing of cigarette butts by dropping them on the ground is littering.
F. A player violating a courtesy rule may be warned by any affected player, even if from another group, or by an official, with all players of the group advised of the warning. The player shall be assessed one penalty throw for each subsequent courtesy violation of any type in the same round. Repeated violations of courtesy rules may result in disqualification in accordance with Section 3.3 of the Competition Manual.
|
In section B, it states a player "should take care not to produce any distracting noises or any potential visual distractions for other players who are throwing." Do you have to kick a bag during a throw to get the warning? _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Adrian1657 Driver

Joined: 04 Jul 2011 Posts: 460 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
That would make for a fast trip to last place.
I don't think i would stop laughing for the whole day. _________________ Ice Bowl is the only good thing with February. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | apparently Carlton Howard penalized a player at a tournament for throwing his bag. They counted each disc in the bag as a throw.....crazy....got that when I put this same thread up on dgcr |
But the player didn't throw the disc? He/she threw their bag?
Maybe hit 'em up with:
Quote: | 802.04 Artificial Devices
A. During a round, a player shall not use any artificial device that may assist in making a
throw, except those devices that reduce or control abrasion to the skin (such as gloves, tape,
bandages, gauze, etc.) and medical items (such as knee and ankle braces, etc.). Items used to prevent slipping on the teeing surface are also allowed. A player is specifically prohibited from using any artificial device that changes the position of the disc in the player's hand or artificially lengthens any of the player's throwing levers (fingers, wrist, arm, shoulder, etc.). The use of devices which assist in determining distances over 10 meters , such as range finders and GPS devices are prohibited. Measuring devices such as a tape measure may be carried and used to determine distances 10 meters and less for the purpose of rules enforcement.
B. A player shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning, if, during any portion of a
round, he or she is observed by two players or an official to be using or carrying an artificial
device that is determined by the director to violate section 802.04 A. A player who uses an
artificial device after it has been determined by the director to be in violation of 802.04 A
has also violated Section 3.3 of the Competition Manual and shall be penalized accordingly.
|
_________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Thumber wrote: | apparently Carlton Howard penalized a player at a tournament for throwing his bag. They counted each disc in the bag as a throw.....crazy....got that when I put this same thread up on dgcr |
But the player didn't throw the disc? He/she threw their bag?
Maybe hit 'em up with:
Quote: | 802.04 Artificial Devices
A. During a round, a player shall not use any artificial device that may assist in making a
throw, except those devices that reduce or control abrasion to the skin (such as gloves, tape,
bandages, gauze, etc.) and medical items (such as knee and ankle braces, etc.). Items used to prevent slipping on the teeing surface are also allowed. A player is specifically prohibited from using any artificial device that changes the position of the disc in the player's hand or artificially lengthens any of the player's throwing levers (fingers, wrist, arm, shoulder, etc.). The use of devices which assist in determining distances over 10 meters , such as range finders and GPS devices are prohibited. Measuring devices such as a tape measure may be carried and used to determine distances 10 meters and less for the purpose of rules enforcement.
B. A player shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning, if, during any portion of a
round, he or she is observed by two players or an official to be using or carrying an artificial
device that is determined by the director to violate section 802.04 A. A player who uses an
artificial device after it has been determined by the director to be in violation of 802.04 A
has also violated Section 3.3 of the Competition Manual and shall be penalized accordingly.
|
|
Sounds to me more like someone was being a dick and the other player mis-applied the rules. I bet an appeal to a TD would see on over-ruling, but perhaps the player would be penalized for being un-courteous ??? _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Dudes in St. Thomas once tried hitting one of the Ottawa players with Practice Throw penalties when he was trying to knock a disc out of a tree with a water bottle. _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|