View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:18 am Post subject: Bags on Hills |
|
|
On Saturday Mark and I played a match at CF
On #10, mark was putting across the green. I was standing maybe 25 feet downhill from the basket. Mark's put hit the basket and then started rolling. I picked up my bag and let the disc continue.
I have no idea what i was supposed to do. i suspect I am supposed to just leave the bag on the ground and let the disc hit it
Anyone know? I remember something about this on PDGA a couple years ago but couldn't find it _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Using the following rules:
Quote: | 801.01 Courtesy
A. Players should not throw until they are certain that the thrown disc will not distract another player or potentially injure anyone present. Players should watch the other members of their group throw in order to aid in locating errant throws and to ensure compliance with the rules.
B. Players should take care not to produce any distracting noises or any potential visual distractions for other players who are throwing. Examples of discourteous actions are: shouting, cursing, freestyling, slapping course equipment, throwing out of turn, throwing or kicking golf bags, throwing minis, and advancing on the fairway beyond the away player. Shouting at an appropriate time to warn someone in danger of being struck by a disc is not a violation of courtesy.
C. Refusal to perform an action expected by the rules, such as assisting in the search for a lost disc, moving discs or equipment, or keeping score properly, etc., is a courtesy violation.
D. Littering is a courtesy violation.
E. Courtesy dictates that players who smoke should not allow their smoke to disturb other players. Smokers should extinguish their cigarettes and carry their cigarette butts to a trash can. Disposing of cigarette butts by dropping them on the ground is littering.
F. A player violating a courtesy rule may be warned by any affected player, even if from another group, or by an official, with all players of the group advised of the warning. The player shall be assessed one penalty throw for each subsequent courtesy violation of any type in the same round. Repeated violations of courtesy rules may result in disqualification in accordance with Section 3.3 of the Competition Manual.
|
Quote: | 803.07 Interference
A. A thrown disc that hits another player, spectator, or animal shall be played where it comes to rest. A thrown disc that is intentionally deflected or was caught and moved shall be marked as close as possible to the point of contact, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. Alternatively, for intentional interference only, the thrower has the option of taking a re-throw. Players shall not stand or leave their equipment where interference with the flight or path of a disc could easily occur. The away player may require other players to mark their lies or move their equipment before making a throw if the player believes that either could interfere with his or her throw.
B. If a disc at rest on the playing surface or supported by the target is moved, the disc shall be replaced as close as possible to its original location, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. If a marker disc is moved, the marker disc shall be replaced as close as possible to its original location, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. (If the two meter penalty is in effect See also 803.08 D and E for movement of a disc above the playing surface.)
C. Any player who consciously alters the course of a thrown disc, or consciously moves or obscures another player's thrown disc at rest or a marker disc, other than by the action of a competitively thrown disc or in the process of identification, shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning, if observed by any two players or an official.
|
I would say that if you were aware your bag was in the way, and you could move it, you should. If you were aware your bag was in the way, and you could move it, and you didn't, you could be dinged with a warning or stroke, though it would be tough to prove your "conscious" motives. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
You did the right thing by moving your bag. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lissyssil Champion of Chains

Joined: 28 May 2010 Posts: 2716 Location: Aylmer, QC
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
The honourable thing would have been to leave the bag there, and reduce my 50 foot comeback to a 25 foot comeback!
Kidding. I think you did exactly the right thing. If I recall the discussion from last time this came either here or on the PDGA forums, I didn't ask you to move your bag, which means that had my disc hit it, there would be no interference call against you. Had I asked and you refused, then there's a courtesy violation, and, if the disc hits the bag, an interference call.
If, however, you attempt to pick up the bag, and as you are doing so, the disc hits your bag, there is a case for interference there, but not one that I would have called.
(Most of this is IMHO, BTW) _________________ Go Sens! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
lissyssil wrote: | The honourable thing would have been to leave the bag there, and reduce my 50 foot comeback to a 25 foot comeback!
Kidding. I think you did exactly the right thing. If I recall the discussion from last time this came either here or on the PDGA forums, I didn't ask you to move your bag, which means that had my disc hit it, there would be no interference call against you. Had I asked and you refused, then there's a courtesy violation, and, if the disc hits the bag, an interference call.
If, however, you attempt to pick up the bag, and as you are doing so, the disc hits your bag, there is a case for interference there, but not one that I would have called.
(Most of this is IMHO, BTW) |
It's a grey area for sure, but I would agree with all these scenarios, but you could also argue other sides.
Thumber could have left his bag. He could have lifted it. There aren't any clear "rules" on the matter. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
i think once the bag is down and I haven't been asked to move it I am not required to and won't be penalized.
That said, I was also fine to move it
I do wonder what would happen if i hit the disc while trying to move the bag? _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | i think once the bag is down and I haven't been asked to move it I am not required to and won't be penalized. |
Correct.
Quote: |
That said, I was also fine to move it |
Yup.
Quote: |
I do wonder what would happen if i hit the disc while trying to move the bag? |
An argument would start. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: |
I do wonder what would happen if i hit the disc while trying to move the bag? |
Actually, nothing would happen. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Thumber wrote: |
I do wonder what would happen if i hit the disc while trying to move the bag? |
Actually, nothing would happen. |
what if the hit changed the direction of the roll and the disc went OB, for example? _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
julz Spin Doctor

Joined: 25 Sep 2005 Posts: 1361 Location: Ottawa, On, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
I thought I remembered a rule that if your bag was hit you got a stroke penalty. was there ever something like that? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Using the following rules:
Quote: | 803.07 Interference
C. Any player who consciously alters the course of a thrown disc, or consciously moves or obscures another player's thrown disc at rest or a marker disc, other than by the action of a competitively thrown disc or in the process of identification, shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning, if observed by any two players or an official.
|
|
Did you conscioulsy alter the course of a thrown disc, or was it an accident and not conscious? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Using the following rules:
Quote: | 803.07 Interference
C. Any player who consciously alters the course of a thrown disc, or consciously moves or obscures another player's thrown disc at rest or a marker disc, other than by the action of a competitively thrown disc or in the process of identification, shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning, if observed by any two players or an official.
|
|
Did you conscioulsy alter the course of a thrown disc, or was it an accident and not conscious? |
Unconcious.....so you would just approximate the disc's location i guess _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
julz wrote: | I thought I remembered a rule that if your bag was hit you got a stroke penalty. was there ever something like that? |
That was a "rumoured" rule that grew wings. I was once called on it. Pulled out the Rule book and asked them to find the rule that covered that. Funny. It didn't exist. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | Thumber wrote: |
I do wonder what would happen if i hit the disc while trying to move the bag? |
Actually, nothing would happen. |
what if the hit changed the direction of the roll and the disc went OB, for example? |
Man that would suck.
Quote: | 803.07 Interference
A. A thrown disc that hits another player, spectator, or animal shall be played where it comes to rest. A thrown disc that is intentionally deflected or was caught and moved shall be marked as close as possible to the point of contact, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. Alternatively, for intentional interference only, the thrower has the option of taking a re-throw. Players shall not stand or leave their equipment where interference with the flight or path of a disc could easily occur. The away player may require other players to mark their lies or move their equipment before making a throw if the player believes that either could interfere with his or her throw.
|
I don't see a rule that would make this a "good" situation. I think the disc would be OB and you'd have a drama card for the rest of the round.
What's with the bolded words? Would the re-throw cost strokes? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Rolly King of Commentary

Joined: 11 Oct 2005 Posts: 9890 Location: South East Division
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:04 pm Post subject: Re: Bags on Hills |
|
|
Thumber wrote: |
I have no idea what i was supposed to do. i suspect I am supposed to just leave the bag on the ground and let the disc hit it
|
Really? You should just go ahead and read the entire rules book agian. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Roxie Plaid Jacket Champion

Joined: 09 Nov 2005 Posts: 6947 Location: Dog River
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What about bags that aren't on hills? _________________ If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
C-Kyle Spin Doctor

Joined: 07 May 2009 Posts: 1224
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just so we are clear, technically he consciously altered the path of a thrown disc. He saw the dist heading for the bag but instead of letting the bag stop the disc he moved the bag and then watched the disc continue on an alternate path. One could also argue that the thrower considered the bag sitting there and thought it would stop the disc if it happened to be near it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Rolly King of Commentary

Joined: 11 Oct 2005 Posts: 9890 Location: South East Division
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jesus christ c-kyle |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
C-Kyle wrote: | Just so we are clear, technically he consciously altered the path of a thrown disc. He saw the dist heading for the bag but instead of letting the bag stop the disc he moved the bag and then watched the disc continue on an alternate path. One could also argue that the thrower considered the bag sitting there and thought it would stop the disc if it happened to be near it. |
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Holly D Overflow Overlord

Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 4304 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
SeaKyle does have a point you guys.
(Can't believe I'm defending Cyle) _________________ 1020 rated lunch preparationist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|