View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:54 pm Post subject: Taking the Officials Test |
|
|
And how would you answer this question?
Question 18: Disc Moved
Player A is parked under the basket, and player B putts out, and picks up player A’s disc saying 'That’s a gimme' and hands the disc to player A. How should player A proceed?
A) Player A moves to the next hole and counts the gimme on his score.
B) Player A puts the disc back to its approximate location and throws their next shot with no penalty.
C) Player A puts the disc back to its approximate location and throws their next shot. Both Player A and Player B receive a one throw penalty.
D) Player A puts the disc back to its approximate location and throws their next shot with no penalty. However player B gets a one throw penalty.
E) Player A puts the disc back to its approximate location and throws their next shot with no penalty. Player B is disqualified for intentional interference. _________________ Boyle says BOOM!
Last edited by Jefrey A. Brother on Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:07 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't think the answer is there. Oh well, we'll soon find out...
The PDGA Officials test is found: http://www.pdga.com/officials-exam-ready _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Results in:
Quote: | OFFICIALS EXAM DETAILS
=========================================
Answered 25 | Missed 0 | Correct 25
Passed? Yes
You have successfully passed the PDGA Official's Exam. |
I know the answer! _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
andros ODGC Presidents Cup Champion

Joined: 10 Oct 2006 Posts: 8489 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | B) Player A puts the disc back to its approximate location and throws their next shot with no penalty. |
I say B. _________________ Hyzer enthusiast |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
C-Kyle Spin Doctor

Joined: 07 May 2009 Posts: 1224
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
I say E |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Holly D Overflow Overlord

Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 4304 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 6:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
I say I'd like to read the official rules twice before making a call. _________________ 1020 rated lunch preparationist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
surge Champion of Chains

Joined: 06 Sep 2004 Posts: 2962 Location: With my discs!
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I say "hey thanks buddy"  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 8:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Is this a PDGA event?
I think the answer is B but if you wanted to be a prick you could likely penalize player B for intentionally movin your disc....Answer D. PLayer A would never be penalized _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
andros ODGC Presidents Cup Champion

Joined: 10 Oct 2006 Posts: 8489 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | Is this a PDGA event? |
I just assumed it was because it is a "PDGA officials test". _________________ Hyzer enthusiast |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
The answer is B. The penalty for intentional interference a disc is 2 stroke penalty. That isn't offered, so I went with B. I was right. _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
burjwahzeh Overflow Overlord

Joined: 13 Dec 2005 Posts: 4460 Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | The answer is B. The penalty for intentional interference a disc is 2 stroke penalty. That isn't offered, so I went with B. I was right. | This means that player "B" didn't intend to move the disc.
Another example of wink-wink-nudge-nudge lax attitudes in the rules. In a tourney, if you do something like this to someone else's disc, you should be penalized.
Think about it. The guy intentionally tried to circumvent the rules, and was looking for your cooperation in doing so. Gimmes are for frolfers, and to be given only in match play. _________________ Privacy is a means to democracy, not an end in itself. - unknown
Sabotage the system. Provoke more questions! - unknown |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
burjwahzeh wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | The answer is B. The penalty for intentional interference a disc is 2 stroke penalty. That isn't offered, so I went with B. I was right. | This means that player "B" didn't intend to move the disc.
Another example of wink-wink-nudge-nudge lax attitudes in the rules. In a tourney, if you do something like this to someone else's disc, you should be penalized.
Think about it. The guy intentionally tried to circumvent the rules, and was looking for your cooperation in doing so. Gimmes are for frolfers, and to be given only in match play. |
That's what I thought too. But the option of a 2 stroke penalty wasn't given. I went with the no penalty.
Do I think the gimmie is OK to do? Yes. At LNF I do it all the time. For a gimmie/drop in. But for a PDGA tournament it should be following the rules to the word of the book.
Other than that, the test was pretty straight forward. _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
burjwahzeh Overflow Overlord

Joined: 13 Dec 2005 Posts: 4460 Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | ...Do I think the gimmie is OK to do? Yes. At LNF I do it all the time. For a gimmie/drop in. But for a PDGA tournament it should be following the rules to the word of the book.
Other than that, the test was pretty straight forward. |
You hit it spot-on: A PROFESSIONAL tournament needs to hold its pros to account.
{Aside: when I read the question, without even looking at the answers I thought, "2 strokes! They're equating willful interference with misguided sportsmanship; nice!", then I noticed 2 strokes wasn't given.}
Why does the PDGA insist that their professionals deserve to be treated with the kid gloves that they'd want amateurs to be treated with?
Here's an answer for you: Because they aren't willing to separate the two!
I call it greed. They'll lose their revenue, paltry as it is, by doing this. Too bad that it needs to be done... _________________ Privacy is a means to democracy, not an end in itself. - unknown
Sabotage the system. Provoke more questions! - unknown |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
burjwahzeh wrote: | Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | ...Do I think the gimmie is OK to do? Yes. At LNF I do it all the time. For a gimmie/drop in. But for a PDGA tournament it should be following the rules to the word of the book.
Other than that, the test was pretty straight forward. |
You hit it spot-on: A PROFESSIONAL tournament needs to hold its pros to account.
{Aside: when I read the question, without even looking at the answers I thought, "2 strokes! They're equating willful interference with misguided sportsmanship; nice!", then I noticed 2 strokes wasn't given.}
Why does the PDGA insist that their professionals deserve to be treated with the kid gloves that they'd want amateurs to be treated with?
Here's an answer for you: Because they aren't willing to separate the two!
I call it greed. They'll lose their revenue, paltry as it is, by doing this. Too bad that it needs to be done... |
Probably goes with the fact they aren't only dealing with "professional" DGers. Maybe the two need to seperate. Maybe it's about time to "earn" your pro card. _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|