View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
andros wrote: | ... by going through the motions with a few flick follow through's and on my last one I release the disc behind and to the left of me about 30ft away. |
PDGA Q&A wrote: | QA12: Is a Drop a Throw?
Q: My throwing hand bumped a tree branch during my backswing knocking the disc to the ground, and the disc rolled forward of my lie. Was that a throw?
A: No. The throw begins when movement of the disc in the intended direction begins. A disc dropped or knocked out before or during a backswing does not count as a throw.
Applicable Rules: 800 Definitions ("Throw") |
PDGA Definitions wrote: | Practice Throw: During a round, the projection of a disc of a distance greater than two meters, or of any distance toward a target, intentional or not, which does not change the player's lie, either because it did not occur from the teeing area or the lie, or because the player had already thrown competitively from the teeing area or the lie. Throws that are re-thrown in accordance with the rules are not practice throws. Provisional throws made pursuant to 803.01 C and 803.01 D (3) are not practice throws. A player shall receive a penalty for a practice throw in accordance with sections 803.01 B or Competition Manual 1.5 B (1). |
_________________ Boyle says BOOM!
Last edited by Jefrey A. Brother on Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:27 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
andros ODGC Presidents Cup Champion

Joined: 10 Oct 2006 Posts: 8489 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well would you look at that.
Good to know I suppose, not that it mattered in the end anyways. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've taken a stroke penalty for flinging mud off my disc and it flying behind me while walking between holes. :shakehead: Thank you St. Thomas.  _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
I had a bunch of weird stuff happen in my match with him too.
I can't believe someone penalized you for that bbp _________________ meh
Last edited by Thumber on Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:41 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John Pytel Sultan of Swill

Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 3774 Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
andros wrote: | Well would you look at that.
Good to know I suppose, not that it mattered in the end anyways. |
Am I right in that it was a practice throw?
More than 2 metres. I think the within 2 metres is IF it was toward a target. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
John Pytel wrote: | andros wrote: | Well would you look at that.
Good to know I suppose, not that it mattered in the end anyways. |
Am I right in that it was a practice throw?
More than 2 metres. I think the within 2 metres is IF it was toward a target. |
I am still trying to figure out how the disc was back and left for a RHFH.....just slipped out right at the end of the follow through? Sounds like a stroke _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
PDGA Q&A wrote: | QA12: Is a Drop a Throw?
Q: My throwing hand bumped a tree branch during my backswing knocking the disc to the ground, and the disc rolled forward of my lie. Was that a throw?
A: No. The throw begins when movement of the disc in the intended direction begins. A disc dropped or knocked out before or during a backswing does not count as a throw.Applicable Rules: 800 Definitions ("Throw") |
_________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | PDGA Q&A wrote: | QA12: Is a Drop a Throw?
Q: My throwing hand bumped a tree branch during my backswing knocking the disc to the ground, and the disc rolled forward of my lie. Was that a throw?
A: No. The throw begins when movement of the disc in the intended direction begins. A disc dropped or knocked out before or during a backswing does not count as a throw.Applicable Rules: 800 Definitions ("Throw") |
|
From the description Dros posted though, it sounds like he lost hold of the disc during a practice motion during the forward motion part of the throw. Almost like severe griplock. Interesting _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
disco rico Falling Colours Champion
Joined: 25 Mar 2007 Posts: 4274 Location: ... L'Orignal Beach or Queensway Club House ...
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
...And it was dark ... can't chime in !  _________________ Keep the money !! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
John Pytel Sultan of Swill

Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 3774 Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jefrey A. Brother wrote: | PDGA Q&A wrote: | QA12: Is a Drop a Throw?
Q: My throwing hand bumped a tree branch during my backswing knocking the disc to the ground, and the disc rolled forward of my lie. Was that a throw?
A: No. The throw begins when movement of the disc in the intended direction begins. A disc dropped or knocked out before or during a backswing does not count as a throw.Applicable Rules: 800 Definitions ("Throw") |
|
So he's ok because it was his "backswing" then. I re read Andros description. I wondered how it got behind him and to the left. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
andros ODGC Presidents Cup Champion

Joined: 10 Oct 2006 Posts: 8489 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
It rolled off my middle finger. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
andros wrote: | It rolled off my middle finger. |
in the backswing? _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
andros ODGC Presidents Cup Champion

Joined: 10 Oct 2006 Posts: 8489 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thumber wrote: | andros wrote: | It rolled off my middle finger. |
in the backswing? |
In the follow through. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Thumber LNF Champion

Joined: 08 Nov 2007 Posts: 8285
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
andros wrote: | Thumber wrote: | andros wrote: | It rolled off my middle finger. |
in the backswing? |
In the follow through. |
Bad luck. Definitely a stroke though _________________ meh |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Roxie Plaid Jacket Champion

Joined: 09 Nov 2005 Posts: 6947 Location: Dog River
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Agreed. If it was the backswing then, yes, no stroke. This was a forward motion and release(unintended). Stoke'm  _________________ If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Holly D Overflow Overlord

Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 4304 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
I am impressed by the number of people that want to stroke andros. _________________ 1020 rated lunch preparationist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Roxie Plaid Jacket Champion

Joined: 09 Nov 2005 Posts: 6947 Location: Dog River
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Get in line. _________________ If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Holly D Overflow Overlord

Joined: 17 Jul 2010 Posts: 4304 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Roxie wrote: | Get in line. |
 _________________ 1020 rated lunch preparationist |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
andros ODGC Presidents Cup Champion

Joined: 10 Oct 2006 Posts: 8489 Location: Ottawa
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Holly D wrote: | I am impressed by the number of people that want to stroke andros. |
So am I, more scared than impressed though... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Jefrey A. Brother King Jefrey

Joined: 05 Feb 2010 Posts: 10042 Location: First tee
|
Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
andros wrote: | Holly D wrote: | I am impressed by the number of people that want to stroke andros. |
So am I, more scared than impressed though... |
Scared or scarred? Both work well in this instance. _________________ Boyle says BOOM! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|